Idea

Others wish to explain the world. We think of the world in terms of a themed world, a world that provides us with practical orientation. Its ten fields of themes indicate subjects, challenges, and problems which we should be dealing with through joint efforts.

We come to visit places and organize events wherever and whenever there is the opportunity. Participation is key. We invite you to take part in a thought experiment in which you are responsible for creating a new kind of world-exhibition. What can such an exhibition be expected to present? How can we subdivide the fields of themes into focal points for the sake of dealing with the challenges of our time? And what is knowledge and the transfer of knowledge in public spaces?

The time has come for a world-exhibition – the time has come for working out a themed world, as it is our task to responsibly shape the world in which we live.

themed world

Life in the Digital Age

We live in the age of digital transformation. Almost everything in human life is affected by it. The dynamics of development are breathtaking. By creating a digital world, we have created a new world which is hard to resist. In the digital age, there are undreamt-of possibilities. However, we do not need to be skeptical of technological progress to have reasons for considering digital transformation one of the biggest challenges of our time. We need to shape it, remaining critical observers of developments by asking what it means to live a life in the digital age.

Planet and Nature

Modern telescopes allow us to have stunning impressions of the universe in which billions of galaxies, even more suns and numerous planets exist. Planet Earth has become quite ordinary. Do we need to feel small and irrelevant, though, in the face of such grandeur? And is it not a misunderstanding of the progress made in cosmology, if this progress makes us lose respect for nature without which life is inconceivable? It cannot be wrong to view our planet in the context of cosmic dimensions, even less so if our new understanding of the universe motivates us to understand more of Planet Earth itself. 

Home and Globalization

Some love it, others see dangers once people start to employ the term ‘home’ (Heimat). The same is also true for the concept of globalization which has ceased to be widely accepted as promising. However, there is no reason to deny oneself the right to a rational discourse on home and globalization. Given that majorities find the concept of being at home somewhere an important aspect of life, societies should at least be ready to debate the meaning of home in public discourses. Of course, the same is true with regard to globalization which needs to be dealt with both critically and unbiasedly.

Health and Happiness

Health is both freedom from impediment, namely disorder and illness, and being at liberty to act. We tend to understand the importance of health only when it is lost. For this reason, the question arises as to the kind of status health can have as long as it comes naturally to us in our everyday lives. Moreover, happiness is something we can make the subject of reflection since happiness does not require us to live a life absent of unhappiness. We should start to reflect on health and happiness before we feel forced to do so.

Religion and Science

Following the Age of Enlightenment in the 18th century, the sciences began upon their triumphal advance. Such a historical view, however, neglects the fact that the principles of enlightenment and science are worshiped only by those who believe in them. Religious world views still shape the conditions of private lives; they establish public expectations and sometimes skepticism towards the sciences. Conversely, scientific insights shake the articles of faith and offer reasons to view things differently. How do we deal with this tension between religion and science?

Time and Life

Physics tells us that time is relative and, as a dimension, intrinsically connected with space. The distinction between a past, a present, and a future is meaningless from such a perspective. While such an understanding enriches our physical approach to the universe, the question arises as to what is left then for an ethical understanding of time. There is indeed a connection between how we conceive of time in our everyday lives and how we conduct our lives. The question of what time is becomes something ethical, when we inquire about the connection between time and life. Whoever doubts the meaningfulness of such an approach, ought to be open at least to the question of why we should not cultivate the ethical understanding of time.

Society and Politics

Politics is the process of shaping human coexistence. In democracies, we are used to the idea that the responsibility for this lies with political parties. While a political system provides a legal framework for private and public affairs, citizens are nonetheless required to contribute to making coexistence and communal life possible. It is certainly important to ask to which degree we must responsibly play our roles as members of a political community. If democracy presupposes a political culture, we need to understand what such a political culture is and how we can keep it alive.

Being lonely and Being alone

We feel entitled to distinguish between being lonely and being alone. Not everyone who is lonely is alone. And not everyone who is alone will feel lonely. From such a perspective, being alone is nothing bad, whereas being lonely appears to be depressing. From a societal point of view, though, being alone also appears to be depressing, given that societal life means being together with others. However, are we really to leave our understanding of being alone to such a societal perspective? And should we not cultivate being together with others as well as being alone?

Bildung and Career

This squirrel has achieved everything it has dreamt of. It can even sit without a chair when it wants to enjoy the view. Obviously, this squirrel has managed to lead a quite successful life. Bildung (i.e. humanistic formation, cultivation, and development) and career, though, did not play a role here. We humans do not have it as easy as the squirrel. What, for example, is Bildung when faced with a working life that requires us to specialize? And what are education and professional training, if one’s profession cannot be one’s calling in each and every case? Moreover, in the digital age we need to understand and master a new job market.

Identity and Responsibility

The question of who we are is a basic question of human life. We can broadly ask this question with regard to mankind, even though identity is also the identity of individuals: who or what am I? Once we understand identity from this point of view, we can debate the connection between identity and responsibility: in which sense do we need to have an identity in order to be capable of being responsible and acting responsibly? And is it not also true that we are responsible for our identity? Indeed, we should not presuppose that identity is always a given. It is at least worth reflecting on identity as something we are responsible for.

Idee

Andere wollen die Welt erklären. Wir denken die Welt als Themenwelt. Diese Welt ist eine Welt der praktischen Orientierung. Ihre zehn Themenfelder zeigen, mit welchen Themen, Herausforderungen und Problemen wir uns gemeinsam auseinandersetzen sollten.

Die denkwerkstatt grenzenlos ist unterwegs in den Regionen. Beteiligung steht hier an erster Stelle – die Teilnahme an einem Gedankenexperiment, in dem man für die Gestaltung einer Welt-Ausstellung verantwortlich ist. Was sollte eine solche Ausstellung einmal zeigen? Wie können wir die Themenfelder der Themenwelt sinnvoll gliedern, um einen Beitrag zur Auseinandersetzung mit den Herausforderungen unserer Zeit zu leisten? Und was sind Wissen und Wissensvermittlung im öffentlichen Raum?

Die Zeit ist reif für eine Welt-Ausstellung – die Zeit ist reif für die Arbeit an einer Themenwelt. Denn wir stehen vor der Aufgabe, die Welt, in der wir leben, verantwortlich zu gestalten.

Themenwelt

Leben im digitalen Zeitalter

Unsere Zeit ist eine Zeit der digitalen Transformation. Nahezu alle Bereiche des menschlichen Lebens sind davon betroffen. Die Entwicklungsdynamik ist atemberaubend. Mit der digitalen Welt hat der Mensch eine neue Welt geschaffen, die uns magisch anzieht. Im digitalen Zeitalter eröffnen sich ungeahnte Möglichkeiten. Man muss kein Technologiefeind sein, um die digitale Transformation gleichwohl als eine der größten Herausforderungen der Gegenwart zu begreifen. Schließlich müssen wir sie gestalten, kritisch begleiten und fragen, was es heißt, ein Leben im digitalen Zeitalter zu führen.

Planet und Natur

Mit modernen Teleskopen schauen wir tief in das Universum, in dem Milliarden von Galaxien, noch mehr Sonnen und unzählige Planeten existieren. Die Erde als Planet ist gewöhnlich geworden. Aber müssen wir uns deshalb klein und unbedeutend fühlen? Versteht man die Fortschritte in der Kosmologie nicht falsch, wenn sie uns den Respekt vor jener Natur verlieren lassen, ohne die Leben nicht denkbar ist? Es kann nicht verkehrt sein, unseren Planeten im kosmischen Maßstab zu sehen, vor allem dann, wenn das Bild vom Kosmos uns motiviert, mehr von unserer Erde selbst zu verstehen.  

Heimat und Globalisierung

Die einen lieben sie, andere wittern Gefahren, wenn von Heimat die Rede ist. Und dasselbe gilt für die Globalisierung, die heute nicht mehr für alle ein Versprechen sein kann. Den rationalen Diskurs über Heimat und Globalisierung muss man sich deshalb aber nicht verbieten. Eine Gesellschaft, in der sich die Mehrheit der Menschen den Heimatbezug nicht nehmen lassen möchte, sollte dabei mindestens bereit sein, die Bedeutung von Heimat in öffentlichen Diskursen auszuhandeln. Nicht weniger muss sie die Frage nach der Globalisierung ebenso kritisch wie unvoreingenommen behandeln. 

Gesundheit und Glück

Was Gesundheit für uns bedeutet, merken wir häufig erst dann, wenn sie nicht mehr selbstverständlich ist. Sie zeigt sich dabei als ein Freisein von Krankheit nicht weniger als ein Freisein für Möglichkeiten. Umgekehrt stellt sich die Frage, welchen Stellenwert Gesundheit in der Praxis des Lebens haben kann, solange sie uns selbstverständlich ist. Und auch mit dem Glück können wir umgehen, weil ein Leben nicht nur dann ein glückliches ist, wenn es uns niemals schlecht geht. Über Gesundheit und Glück sollten wir nicht erst dann nachzudenken anfangen, wenn beides abwesend ist. 

Religion und Wissenschaft

Nach der Aufklärung im 18. Jahrhundert traten im 19. Jahrhundert die Naturwissenschaften ihren Siegeszug an. Allerdings lässt solche Geschichtsschreibung außer Acht, dass Aufklärung und Wissenschaft immer nur von jenen gepriesen werden, die sich dazu bekennen. Religiöse Weltbilder prägen, global gesehen, weiterhin das Leben, etablieren öffentliche Erwartungen und rufen mitunter Wissenschaftsskepsis hervor. Umgekehrt erschüttern Wissenschaften religiöse Glaubensgrundsätze und liefern Gründe, die Dinge anders zu sehen. Wie gehen wir mit dieser Spannung um?

Zeit und Leben

Zeit ist Zeit in ihrem Zusammenhang mit Raum und relativ, lehrt die Physik. Die Unterscheidung von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft ist hier nicht vorgesehen. Doch wie weit kommen wir mit einem solchen Zeitverständnis in ethischer Perspektive? Wie wir über Zeit denken, hat viel damit zu tun, wie wir unser Leben führen. Die Frage nach der Zeit ist eine andere, wenn wir sie als die Frage nach dem Zusammenhang von Zeit und Leben stellen. Wer sie in dieser Form nicht für sinnvoll hält, muss sich fragen lassen, warum wir das ethische Verständnis von Zeit nicht kultivieren sollten. 

Gesellschaft und Politik

Politik ist eine Form der Gestaltung menschlichen Zusammenlebens. Im Falle von Demokratien sind wir daran gewöhnt, dass Parteien dafür zuständig sind. Allerdings können sie nur den gesetzlichen Rahmen vorgeben und darauf hoffen, dass Bürgerinnen und Bürger einen Beitrag zur Gestaltung des Zusammenlebens leisten. Es stellt sich immer auch die Frage, in welchem Maße wir die Rolle als Mitglieder einer politischen Gemeinschaft verantwortlich wahrnehmen. Setzt Demokratie politische Kultur voraus, so müssen wir verstehen, was solche Kultur ist und wie wir sie lebendig halten.

Einsamsein und Alleinsein

Zwischen Einsamsein und Alleinsein wissen wir gut zu unterscheiden. Nicht jeder, der einsam ist, muss auch allein sein. Und nicht jede, die allein ist, muss auch einsam sein. Alleinsein ist in dieser Perspektive nichts schlechtes, während das Einsamsein bedrückend erscheint. In gesellschaftlicher Perspektive jedoch erscheint auch das Alleinsein bedrückend, sofern gesellschaftliches Leben ein Zusammensein mit anderen ist. Aber müssen wir das Alleinsein einer solchen Gesellschaftsperspektive überlassen? Sollten wir nicht nur das Zusammensein, sondern auch das Alleinsein kultivieren? 

Bildung und Beruf

Dieses Eichhörnchen hat alles erreicht, was es wollte. Es kann sogar ohne Stuhl sitzen, wenn es die Aussicht genießen möchte. Offensichtlich hat dieses Eichhörnchen vieles im Leben richtig gemacht. Bildung und Beruf spielten dabei jedoch keine Rolle. Wir Menschen haben es nicht ganz so einfach. Was ist Bildung unter den Bedingungen eines Berufslebens, das uns Spezialisierung abverlangt? Und was kann Ausbildung sein, wenn der eigene Beruf nicht für jeden eine Berufung sein kann? Hinzu kommt, dass wir im digitalen Zeitalter einen neuen Arbeitsmarkt verstehen und bespielen müssen.  

Identität und Verantwortung

Wer wir sind, ist eine Grundfrage des Lebens. Sie lässt sich als die Frage nach dem Menschen überhaupt stellen. Identität ist aber auch stets die je eigene: Wer oder was bin ich? Und worin besteht hier der Zusammenhang von Identität und Verantwortung? In welcher Hinsicht müssen wir eine Identität haben, um Verantwortung übernehmen zu können? Und gilt nicht umgekehrt, dass wir Verantwortung für unsere Identität haben? Wir müssen nicht davon ausgehen, dass Identität immer schon gegeben ist – und könnten darüber nachdenken, was sie ist, wenn wir sie verantworten.